Oily Creations- Foaming Hand Soap

Once in a while the planets align and I find myself on a Saturday with nothing to do. The creative juices are flowing and I get to be crafty. We all know how happy it makes me when my crafty side gets to pair up with my oily obsessed side.

Today I want to share with you a recipe for creating your own foaming hand soap, using Young Living essential oils. Why would you want to do this? Well, first let’s take a look at ingredients in a very popular brand of foaming hand soap.

Water (Aqua, Eau), Sodium Laureth Sulfate,  Fragrance (Parfum), PPG-1-PEG-9 Lauryl Glycol Ether, Disodium Laureth Sulfosuccinate,  Mangifera Indica (Mango) Fruit Extract, Olea Europaea (Olive) Fruit Extract, Cocos Nucifera (Coconut) Fruit Extract, Honey Extract (Mel, Extrait de Miel), Sodium Chloride, Glycerin, Cocamidopropylamine Oxide, Hydroxyethyl Urea, PEG-7 Glyceryl Cocoate, Hydroxypropyl Methylcellulose, Guar Hydroxypropyltrimonium Chloride, Propylene Glycol, Triethylene Glycol, Butylene Glycol, Tetrasodium EDTA, Citric Acid, Benzophenone-4,  Sodium Hydroxide, Benzyl Alcohol,  Methylchloroisothiazolinone, Methylisothiazolinone, Red 33 (CI 17200), Red 40 (CI 16035), Yellow 5 (CI 19140), Blue 1 (CI 42090).

Clear as mud? I don’t know about you, but I feel much more comfortable putting ingredients I can pronounce and understand on my skin (not to mention my hands which touch my food, face, kiddo!). Take a look at the ingredients list of this soap: Castile soap (water, coconut oil, potassium hydroxide {PH adjuster}, palm kernel oil, olive oil, hemp oil, jojoba oil, citric acid, and tocopherol {vitamin E}), Vitamin E, Essential Oils, and water. Better?

This DIY recipe is so easy, it will only take you minutes from start to finish. Also,  it only costs about $5.00 to make the first time and once you have the dispenser you can refill it for about $2.00.

Ingredients:

  • Foaming Hand Soap Dispenser (I like these)
  • 1/3 cup Castile Soap
  • 2/3 cup Distilled Water
  • 10-15 drops Vitamin E (I purchased this brand. It’s a lot of money up front, but it has lasted me a year and I haven’t even used half of it)
  • 10 drops Young Living Essential Oil of choice (I used Idaho Blue Spruce to make this soap for my husband. Some other favorites are Lavender, Thieves, Stress Away, Purification, and Joy)

Instructions:

  • Pour castile soap into dispenser, add vitamin E and essential oil(s), then top with water (be careful to leave some space at the top so it doesn’t pour over when the pump is inserted).

Share your oil combos with us in the comments below!

salutation

Leave a Reply

